World currency symbols and their abbreviations


European Euro
It is the official currency of the countries of the eurozone, which consists of 19 countries, and it is also used as an official currency for many countries outside the European organization, and the euro is the second largest currency in the world in terms of trading in the forex market, as well as the second in terms of monetary reserves for the countries of the world.

The euro currency was adopted in 1999, but the euro currency began circulating at the beginning of 2002.

The euro is denoted by €, and its code is “EUR”.

7 paper versions of the euro currency are issued starting from the 5 euro category to the 500 euro category, and it is worth noting that many European countries have stopped dealing with the 500 euro currency, and the designs of the euro currency categories carry architectural designs over different centuries.

Looking at the euro coin denominations, they start from 1 cent to 2 euros.

The British pound sterling
The pound sterling is the official currency of the United Kingdom, and it is called “the pound”, the pound sterling is divided into 100 pence, and the pound sterling is one of the oldest currencies used so far, and many countries also call its currency “the pound”.

The British pound is ranked fourth in terms of the most traded currencies in the foreign exchange market, and it is also ranked fourth in terms of reserve currencies held by the countries of the world.

The euro currency is denoted by £, and its code is “GBP”.

The pound sterling currency was first printed in 1745 by the Bank of England, and the denominations then started from (20 pounds to 1000 pounds) and then the lower denominations were gradually added: 10 pounds, then 5 pounds, after that 2 denominations £ 1 in 1797.

Now, sterling notes start from 5 pounds to 50 pounds, and for coins, they start from 1 penny to 2 pounds.

Japanese Yen
The Japanese yen is the official currency in Japan, and the yen is the third most traded currency in the global foreign exchange market after “the US dollar and the euro. It is also ranked third as a reserve currency after the US dollar and the euro.

The Japanese currency is considered a safe haven currency for investors in cases of economic uncertainty. During and after the financial crisis, the yen rose by more than 20%, and in 2010, concerns about European debt led to a 10% rise in the Japanese currency against the euro, and a similar phenomenon occurred once. Another was in 2013 when uncertainty around the Italian elections caused the yen to rise 5% against the euro and 4% against the dollar.

The Japanese yen is denoted by ¥, and its code is “JPY”.

The first coin was issued under the name “Japanese Yen” in 1871, and the Japanese Yen is divided into 100 Sen. Coins in the Japanese Yen start from 1 yen to 500 yen, while banknotes start from 1000 yen to 10,000 yen.

The most famous denomination is the “10,000 yen” coin, which bears the image of the Japanese writer “Fukuzawa Yukichi”, who is one of the founders of Japan’s modern renaissance.

Canadian dollar
The Canadian dollar was issued in 1867, after the union (Colony of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick).

The Canadian dollar is denoted by C $, and its code is “CAD”. The Canadian dollar is divided into 100 cents.

The Canadian dollar is the sixth most reserve currency in the world with less than 2% of all global reserves, and it is the seventh most traded currency in the forex market. The Canadian dollar is popular with central banks due to the relative economic safety of Canada, the strong sovereign position of the Canadian government, and the stability Legal and political systems in the country.

Canadian dollar coins start from 1 ¢, 5 ¢, 10 ¢, 25 ¢, 50 ¢, $ 1 to $ 2, while Canadian dollar banknotes start from $ 5, $ 10, $ 20, $ 50 to $ 100.

Chinese yuan
The official name for the Chinese currency is the renminbi, which literally translates to people’s currency and abbreviated to RMB, the most widespread international use is the yuan.

The Chinese yuan denotes ¥, and its code is “CNY”, the yuan is divided into 10 jiao.

Banknotes and coins are commonly used in China, at present, banknotes of 1, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 yuan denominations are in circulation. One yuan coins are also widely used.

In October 2016, the yuan became the first currency in the emerging market to be included in the special drawing rights basket of the International Monetary Fund (reserve currency), and this comes as a result of China’s strong economic growth in recent decades and it has become the second largest economy in the world after the United States. To outperform many major currencies and become the fifth most reserve currency in the world, with nearly 2% of all global reserves.

Australian dollar
The Australian dollar is denoted by $ and its code is “AUD”. The Australian dollar is divided into 100 cents.

The Australian dollar has been adopted as the “official currency of the country” since 1966, and before that the Australian currency was the Australian pound.

Australian dollar coins start from 5, 10 ¢, 20 ¢, 50 ¢, $ 1 to $ 2, while Australian dollar banknotes start from $ 5, $ 10, $ 20, $ 50 to $ 100.

The Australian dollar is the 7th most reserve currency reserve in the world, with nearly 1.7% of all global reserves.